The 1st Edition of ‘The India Sugar & Bio-Energy Conference, 2023’ is scheduled to take place on the 21st and 22nd of September, 2023 at JW Marriott, Aerocity, New Delhi. This milestone event will bring together experts, thought leaders, and stakeholders from the Sugar Industry, the Bio-fuels Industry, and all allied industries under one roof. Over the two days, the conference will witness the participation of eminent and world-renowned International and Indian thought leaders who will share their expert knowledge on the dynamics of the global sugar economy, trade flows, and the latest technologies for further growth in the bio-fuels sector. This convergence of expertise will facilitate knowledge sharing, idea exchange, and the design of a path for the future of the sugar and bio-energy industry.

Day 1, Thursday 21st September 2023

Venue - Grand Crystal Ballroom, JW Marriott, Aerocity



Panel Detail

  • Moderator

    Dr. Patricia Luís-Manso

    Agribuysiness Research & Sustainability Director - S&P Global Commodity

  • Feature Item 2

    Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisi cing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut abore et dolore magna

  • Feature Item 3

    Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisi cing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut abore et dolore magna

Inaugural Address & Introduction to the Conference

Aditya Jhunjhunwala

President - ISMA

Speech by Chief Guests

H.E. Kenneth Felix Haczynski da Nobrega

Brazilian Ambassador to India

Shri Sanjeev Chopra

Secretary - Ministry of Food & Public Distribution

Shri Hardeep Singh Puri

Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas and Minister of Housing and Urban Affairs

Shri Nitin Gadkari

Minister of Road Transport & Highways & Shipping

Thankyou Address

Jose Orive

Executive Director – ISO


Dr. Patricia Luís-Manso

Agribusiness Research & Sustainability Director - S&P Global Commodity


Kona Haque

Group Head of Research - ED&F Man

Stephen Geldart

Head of Analysis - Czarnikow Group Ltd (CZ)

Luca Meierhofer

Global Head of Sugar Cash Trading - Louis Dreyfus Company

Karim Salamon

Head of Analysis - Wilmar Sugar Ltd.

Dimitri Varsano

Senior Sugar Trader - Sucden


Dr. Plinio Nastari

Founder and President - DATAGRO Consulting

Distinguished Speaker

Shri Kamran Rizvi

Secretary - Ministry of Heavy Industries


Rahul Bharti

ED – Corporate Affairs, Maruti Suzuki

Eishin Chihana*

Chairman – Yamaha Motor India

Gautam Goel

Managing Director - Dhampur Bio Organics Limited

Prashant K Banerjee

Executive Director - SIAM


Niraj Shirgaokar

Managing Director - The Ugar Sugar Works Ltd.


Vivek Saraogi

Chairman & Managing Director - Balrampur Chini Mills Ltd.

Prakash P Naiknavare

Managing Director - NFCSF


Atul Chaturvedi

Executive Chairman - Shree Renuka Sugars Limited

Vivek M. Pittie

Director - Harinagar Sugar Mills

Indian Ocean is an Indian rock band formed in New Delhi in 1990, who are widely recognized as the pioneers of the fusion rock genre in India. Enjoy the performance over drinks and dinner.

Day 2, Friday 22nd September 2023

Venue - Grand Crystal Ballroom, JW Marriott, Aerocity



Panel Details


Dr. Plinio Nastari

Founder and President - DATAGRO Consulting

Distinguished Speaker

Evandro Gussi

Chief Executive Officer - UNICA


Kannika Vongkusolkit

Vice President, Trading Business and Risk Management – Mitr Phol Sugar Corp. Ltd.

Jeremy Austin

General Director - Sucden


Bruno Trombelli

Commercial Director - Raízen

Mauro Virgino

Head of Trading Intelligence - Alvean


Sankalp Suman

COP 28 International Youth Delegate, Sr. Manager - Sustainability & Climate Change - ISMA

Distinguished Speaker

Shri Sangeet Singla

(S&VO, SP, SDF & SPF), Department of Food & PD, Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution


Danielle Morley

CEO - Bonsucro

Rohit Kumar

Secy General Carbon Markets Association of India, VP - EKIE

Abhay Bakre

Director General - Bureau of Energy Efficiency


Vedang Pittie

Executive – Harinagar Sugar Mills


Subhash Kumar

Ex CMD - ONGC, Advisor ISMA

Distinguished Speaker

Shri Pankaj Jain

Secretary – Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas


Aditya Jhunjhunwala

President - ISMA

Vikram Gulati

Country Head & EVP (Corporate Affairs & Governance) - Toyota Kirloskar Motor

Dr. Reji Mathai

Director - ARAI

Amit Sachdev

Regional Consultant - U.S. Grains Council


Samir Somaiya

Chairman and Managing Director - The Godavari Biorefineries Limited

Distinguished Speaker

Shri Manoj Ahuja

Secretary - Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare


Dr. Larry P. Walker

Professor - Somaiya University

Dr. Prakash Lakshmanan

Professor Director - Sugarcane Research Institute, GXAAS


Ankita Patil Thackeray

Chairman - Ashti Sugar Mills Ltd.

Dr. Sushil Solomon

Advisor - ISMA , Ex-Director at Indian Institute of Sugarcane Research, Lucknow


Sanjay Ganjoo

Director – Indian Federation of Green Energy


Ajay Singh

Chairman - Spicejet

Dr. Preeti Jain

Global Director - Policy, Chemicals & Carbon Solution - LanzaTech

Atul Mulay

President- Bioenergy Praj Industries


Ravi Gupta

Executive Director - Shree Renuka Sugars Limited

Akhilesh K Goyal

Managing Director – Shrijee Sugar & Power Pvt. Ltd (MP)


Jose Orive

Executive Director - ISO


Annie Denny

Director General - World Sugar Research Organization

Marie Christine Ribera

Director General - CEFS


Avantika Saraogi

Promoter & Business Lead - New Initiatives, Balrampur Chini Mills Ltd.

Welcome Speech

Aditya Jhunjhunwala

President - ISMA

Summary of the Conference

Jose Orive

Executive Director ISO

Special Address by Chief Guest

Shri Piyush Goyal

Hon’ble Minister, Minister of Commerce & Industry, Consumer Affairs & Food & Public Distribution and Textiles

Vote of Thanks

M Prabhakar Rao

Vice President ISMA

Relax and network as the conference comes to an end.

Scroll to Top